NHL: Rangers vs Flyers

My girlfriend was away on work related award show and I was home so I took the opportunity to watch the first full NHL of 2016 for me. And it was on a good time even for us NHL fans that love sun Europe. The game I chose to see was the New York Rangers vs Philadelphia Flyers. A game where there was real rivalry and it show in the game. The big talker wa about Flyers Simmons getting a game penalty for misconduct and what Simmons did wasn’t according to the rule book but what McDonald did to Simmons wasn’t either according to the rule book if I’m honest. However this nicely said stirded up some feelings and after a while we got a fight and at that point it felt like the referees lost the control of the game and I think fans of both teams felt that way. 

Flyers took the lead in the first period but Rangers tied it early in the second. But now for long before Flyers where back in the lead. In the third Ramgers did all they could in order to catch up and it didn’t seam like they where going to succeed but in the lag seconds of the third period Rangers pulled their goalie Henrik Lundqvist and with 12 seconds left they got tied. After that tree was overtime and I once again became convinced about that the 3 on 3 over time format is genius and among the most entertaining forms of hockey I’ve seen. The intensity and skilled and opportunities makes it just fantastic. I love it. But in this game no team had won after the over time so it became a shootout and Lundqust stopped all shoots and Zuccarello made a Peter Forsberg move and where a part of the winning trio that made Rangers win this game. Rangers really stole this game from the Flyers and I really liked watching it but I had hoped more out of the Rangers to be honest.

Either way a great Sunday evening!

Leave a Reply

